The U.S. Dept. of Education (ED) has released the latest round of determinations regarding states’ implementation of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). These determinations, based on data for fiscal year 2011, found 38 states to be meeting the requirements of IDEA while a handful of states (12 plus DC) were found to need assistance or intervention.

The determinations by state are as follows (details available here):

– MEETS REQUIREMENTS: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Republic of Palau, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming

– NEEDS ASSISTANCE (one year): Colorado, Delaware, Maine,

– NEEDS ASSISTANCE (two or more consecutive years):  Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, New York

– NEEDS INTERVENTION (seven consecutive years): District of Columbia

NEW! ED has also released – for the first time – a comprehensive profile of every state. Called a “Data Display,” these new profiles provide “certain State-reported data in a transparent, user-friendly manner” according to ED. Be sure to check out your state’s Data Display by clicking on the link below.

Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Puerto Rico
Connecticut Minnesota Rhode Island
Delaware Mississippi South Carolina
District of Columbia Missouri South Dakota
Florida Montana Tennessee
Georgia Nebraska Texas
Hawaii Nevada Utah
Idaho New Hampshire Vermont
Illinois New Jersey Virginia
Indiana New Mexico Washington
Iowa New York West Virginia
Kansas North Carolina Wisconsin